Posts

Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Increases

As you get ready to celebrate the 4th of July, don’t forget that a number of local minimum wage increases across California will take effect July 1, 2017. Eligibility rules may vary among the locations listed below. Employers should review the individual city ordinances and follow posting requirements. Employee handbooks and policies, as well as new posters, may need updating.

The following cities and counties will increase their minimum wage July 1:

  • Emeryville: $15.20 an hour for businesses with 56 or more employees; $14 an hour for businesses with 55 or fewer employees.
  • City of Los Angeles: $12 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Los Angeles County (unincorporated areas only): $12 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Malibu: $12 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • Milpitas: $11 an hour
  • Pasadena: $12 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.
  • San Francisco: $14 an hour.
  • San Jose: $12 an hour.
  • San Leandro: $12 an hour
  • Santa Monica: $12 an hour for employers with 26 or more employees; $10.50 an hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

The Economic Policy Institute has a very good, up to date, interactive website regarding minimum wage laws in California and around the United States.

Local leave law updates

Over the last several years, California and several cities and counties have implemented mandator paid sick leave laws. The City of Los Angeles’ Paid Sick Leave Ordinance now applies to all employers. Employers with 25 or fewer employees must provide increased accrual benefits (48 hours annually for use/72 hours for total accrual cap) for sick leave benefits July 1, 2017.

San Francisco’s Paid Parental Leave Ordinance was passed with a phased-in implementation. Employers with 35 or more employees must begin complying as of July 1, 2017.

Fox Rothschild has a very good table summary of the various paid sick leave laws in California. It was last updated in September 2016, so there may be additional changes.

Original article by Robert E. Nuddleman of Nuddleman Law Firm, P.C.

Feel free to suggest topics for the blog. We are happy to consider topics pertaining to general points of Labor and Employment Law. We cannot answer questions about specific situations or provide legal advice over the Internet. If you desire legal advice, you should contact an attorney.

Using this blog does not create an attorney-client relationship between you and Nuddleman Law Firm, P.C. Using the Internet or this blog to communicate with the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Do not post confidential or time-sensitive information in this blog. The Nuddleman Law Firm, P.C. cannot guarantee the confidentiality of anything posted to this blog.

The Nuddleman Law Firm, P.C. represents employees and businesses throughout Silicon Valley and the greater San Francisco Bay Area including Pleasanton, Oakland, San Ramon, Hayward, Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Mountain View, Los Altos, San Jose, the South Bay Area, Campbell, Los Gatos, Cupertino, Morgan Hill, Gilroy, Sunnyvale, Santa Cruz, Saratoga, and Alameda, San Mateo, Santa Clara, San Benito, Mendocino, and Calaveras counties.